Profile Description

According to Michael Rustad, a Professor of Law at Suffolk University Law School in Boston, who has done extensive research on punitive damage awards, “Les Weisbrod has obtained more medical malpractice punitive damage jury verdicts for his clients than any other attorney in the United States.”

His $31 million verdict against Baylor University Medical Center in Dallas in 2003 was one of the top 100 verdicts in the United States.

Les Weisbrod has been dubbed the ?pitbull? of the Texas medical malpractice bar. His tenacity and relentless pursuit of discovery is demonstrated by his appellate cases including: Barnes v. Whittington, 751 S.W.2d 494 (Tex. 1988) (orig. proceeding); Walker v. Packer, 827 S.W.2d 833 (Tex. 1992) (orig. proceeding); and S.A.B. v. Schattman, 838 S.W.2d 290 (Tex. App.–Fort Worth 1992) (orig. proceeding).

Since May 1986, Mr. Weisbrod has tried or settled over 179 medical malpractice and medical product cases that have each resulted in verdicts or settlements of $1,000,000 or more for his clients.

Mr. Weisbrod received his B.A. magna cum laude in 1975 from Claremont Men?s College and his J.D. in 1978 from Southern Methodist University Law School, and he is Board Certified by the Texas Board of Legal Specialization in Personal Injury Trial Law and Civil Trial Law.

He is a past president of the Dallas Trial Lawyers Association in 1993 and has been a member of the Texas Trial Lawyers Association Board of Directors since 1990. Mr. Weisbrod has served as President, President-Elect, Vice President, Secretary, Treasurer and Parliamentarian of the American Association for Justice (AAJ) (formerly ATLA).

Mr. Weisbrod has also served on the AAJ Board of Governors since 1998 and has served on the 17-member Executive Committee of AAJ since 2001. Mr. Weisbrod was the founding Co-Chair of AAJ?s Birth Trauma Litigation Group in 1991, founding Co-Chair of AAJ?s Medical Negligence Litigation Group in 1999, and Chair of AAJ?s Professional Negligence Section in 1996.

In 1990, he was chosen as a Rising Star of the ATLA and presented a paper entitled, “Dirt and Greed: A New Look at Medical Malpractice Cases.” He is a contributing author to the 1996 text Operative Obstetrics published by Williams & Wilkins, and co-author of the Drugs & Medical Devices chapter in AAJ?s Litigating Tort Cases.

He has lectured to lawyer groups across the U.S., Canada, England and Australia, and has written extensively on medical malpractice and medical product topics. He is recognized nationally and internationally as one of the top plaintiff?s medical malpractice trial lawyers in the United States.

  • Law Office Affiliations AAJ - American Association for Justice - President ABOTA (American Board of Trial Advocates) - Member American Society of Law and Medicine - Member Arkansas Trial Lawyers Association - Member Consumer Attorneys of California - Member Dallas and American Bar Associations - Member Dallas County Settlement Week - Chairman Dallas Trial Lawyers Association - President Louisiana Trial Lawyers Association - Member Pan-European Organization of Personal Injury Lawyers - Member State Bar of Texas - Member Texas Trial Lawyers Association - President
  • Practice Area Dallas
  • Medical Malpractice
Awards & Certificates
Best Lawyer 2017
Best Lawyer 2017

Latest Law Firms
January 1, 1970
January 1, 1970
Recently joined
January 1, 1970
January 1, 1970
January 1, 1970

Subscribe to our newsletter to receive our latest news and updates. We do not spam.

© Copyright 2019 Best Medical Malpractice Guide. All rights reserved. Trighton Interactive